Thread: Questions baout my new tank.

Default Questions baout my new tank.

well, i'm a newbie to the cichlid world atm. i had fish since i was 7(now 18) but they were tropical and sucked ass. anywyas, about a month ago i wanted to set up a tank, and decided on cichlids. this is myt current set-up atm.

tank: 60 gallon
    gravel: small black gravel
    filter: penguin 330

fish: 2 green severums(1 in), 1 buttercuffri(3/4 in), 1 pleco(2 in), 1 bricharri(i think thats how ya spell it, 1 in), 2 texas cichlids(1in), 2 kenya(1 in), 1 albino cory(3/4 in), one spotted cory(1.5 in), 1 eal looking sob(not an eal, forgot his name, 3.5 in), 1 electric blue(1.5 in), and 2 others that i cannot identify either.

one is hack a black body, white stripes(not clear stripes) going up and down its body, and very very light bluw spots, mostly on its all black head.

the second is a neaon blue african cichlid, hes jsut diff shades of blue all over, and a light blue(not yellow) dot on his anal fin.

first, can anyone help me first identify my 2 un-knowns?

should i switch filters, if so, to what kind and brand, and size, etc, etc.?

when do electic blues start to colorize? i was told around 2.5 in., is that so?

do the green severums colorize at 5 in?

my texas cichlids are becoming more and more agressive, especially to my coorys, i used to have 4 albinos, only one is left now(one died this morning).

is it good to keep them a little hungry? if so, whats the reason behind this?

any suggestions on my tank set-up will be appritiated, any fish recommendations would also be great, but i wont out nothing over 1.5 inches in the tank atm.

so, who wants to take a crap shot at all these?

all i can say is each to their own, i my opinion, this is asking for trouble, have you done any research before you bought these fish?, did the shop offer you any advice?.