Thread: Red Devil Cichlid...Male or Female?

Default Red Devil Cichlid...Male or Female?

hey everyone,
    firt let me say im new to cichlidforums as i just registered about 10 mins ago so i dont quite know how to use it well at this point but i figured id start off focusing on my new Red Devil Cichlid. Its about 3" long and in a 75 gal. tank and im wondering if there is anyone who can determine the sex of the fish, even at this young age....in the fish store, the devil i chose was the largest and most colorful in the tank and it was chasing and nippin the other devils.
    im not sure if i can do this on here but here is a link to a video i just put up on my youtube chanel of the new devil. let me know what you think

oh and the silver dollars and synodontis cat you see will be moved out within the week.
    Thanks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fn6ubexs8MA

Hello and welcome Monster. Considering it was the dominant one in the tank at the store I would assume it is a male. I have also kept Silver Dollars with Midas Cichlids in the past with little problems till the Midas was about 2 years old. I do this to get him used to sharing a tank with other fish, even though if kept in a 75 the rest of his life he will probably try to kill anything else in the tank. Good luck and again welcome.

Dave

Hey Dave,
    Thanks a lot for your input, greatly appreciated! I'm really thinking its a male as well. The chances of a female being the largest in the group AND the most aggressive are slim, right? And as for the fish that are in with him now...im planning on taking out the silver dollars but im going to try to keep my 8" synodontis Ocellifer catfish with him for a bit and see how that works out.
    thanks again,

Chris