Thread: Need Help!!! Bloat or Pregnant Jewel

Exclamation Need Help!!! Bloat or Pregnant Jewel

I don't know if this jewel has bloat or is pregnant. It has been growing for some time now. Hanging out in the rocks most of the time. Swimming seems normal, but I am relatively new to African cichlids in general so I am unsure. Below are a couple of pictures with the Turquoise jewel.

Thanks for the help guys...

Brian

That would be bloat. Cichlids do not get pregnant like live bearers and while they can get egg bound that does not appear to be the case.
    The photocontest, like everything else is behind schedule. You get some links back today.

Thanks Glaive. How would I go about treating bloat? Currently they are all together in a 75G. Do I need to separate the fish? medicate together? any help is welcomed...

Bmallet I found this thread for you. Julia

http://www.cichlidforums.com/showthread.php?t=30917
    ♥♥"A stunted discus is like an ugly baby. You think yours is beautiful until someone has the nerve to say "Damn! That's an ugly baby"♥♥

♥♥Only trust someone who can see these three things in you:
    The sorrow behind your smile,
    The love behind your anger, and
    The reason behind your silence.♥♥

WATER CHANGE/WATER CHANGE/WATER CHANGE <~~~ My Mantra!