Thread: Need help stocking cichlid and angel tanks!!!

Default Need help stocking cichlid and angel tanks!!!

Hello!
    I am pretty new to this whole fish thing, but I absolutely love it! I just recently bought a 36 gallon bowfront tank and have a 29 gallon, and i need help stocking them. I would love to have the 36 gallon be an angelfish community tank, and the 29 gallon a cichlid tank.

I love fish with bright colors, and interesting shapes. If you could help me set up a tank with those aspects, it would be greatly appreciated!

I was also wondering if you could keep angels in a tank with fake plants. I was thinking that since i'm new at all this, I should just focus on the fish right now, and then maybe branch out toward a planted tank.

I've researched alot about freshwater tanks, and how to start them and the best ways to do it, but if you have anything else I should know about maintaining my aquarium, please let me know! Thanks so much!!

Well you can keep plants with angels but not cichlids, yes angels are cichlids but they don't destroy plants like the others do. If you want to get into bright colored fish you should check out Africans. You don't have a huge tank so I would not get into central Americans. Angels get really big and beautiful. I would stock the 29 gallon with a couple angels, maybe three and the 36 gallon with Africans. The like lots of rockwork, so if you get into them I would get some rocks so they can hide in.

Are you familiar with the cycling process? If not then we will help you. You can’t just get a bunch of fish and put them in, they will die from the cycling process.

If you don’t have a python and hose I would get one. They attach to your sink and suck up the crud at the bottom of the tank. Then you just fill it back up with water from the sink, use a dechlorinator. If not your fish will get sick from chlorine poisoning. But the python and hose saves you from the bucket method which really hurts your back and it’s quicker.