Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Assorted Cichlid Question

Default Assorted Cichlid Question

So I was reading the post by Tom about "Assorted African Cichlids" and Identification and have a question, As i am new to keeping African Cichlids and am enjoying it so far, is it bad to purchase form the "Assorted Bin"? Is it because you don't know what your getting say species wise or are most assorted tanks on average a certain type? I really like mine except one of mine was totally blue and now is black! Which I don't understand yet and will probably be another topic. thanks for any replies
    Jason

Most mixed tanks are probably hybrids and/or species that didnt meet certain criteria to be placed in a tank with a known species.

"species that didnt meet certain criteria"? like?

like coloration, shape, etc... I mean think about it, why would they put a fish in an assorted bin and charge less if they knew what it was and could charge a few dollors more?

The LFS in Columbus I buy from, keeps one species per tank in most instances. So when they get down to the last 3 to 5 fish in the tank, they move them into a big community tank and call the inhabitants "assorted cichlids" with a reduced price. I recently took some of my excess stock (yellow labs, male ruby greens, 2 pair of afra cobue) to the store and got store credit. They put them in a tank labeled "assorted cichlids".

But .... some stores just buy "assorted cichlids" from the fish farms and they're very cheap. It's just a big grab-bag of fish that are often hybrids.

One way or another, you need to know what you are buying if you gamble on the assorted tank. This is the one and only fish I've ever bought from the assorted tank.

But I knew exactly what it was when I saw it. (An extremely aggressive fish that some one needed out of their tank, I assume. Tropheops sp. "Chilumba")

Kevin

I think that is my problem right now, Being so new to African Cichlids