Thread: filter error possibly?

Default filter error possibly?

i have a lot of carbon, i meant a lot, and yet the onlly way i can keep my water clear is by giant water changes...any ideas

im using a filstar xp3

Try using some filter floss, it'll strain out a lot of stuff that clouds the water.
    Just being for awhile.

my lfs sucks ass, hopefully they got some new stuff in, but should that go up top or in the bottom near the sponges

I've never used a filstar before, but the filter floss should be one of the first media's the water will flow through. You can use hypo-allergenic stuffing material found in any crafts shop. I find it at walmart. It's cheap and it works, you just have to change it regularly.
    Just being for awhile.

What size tank and how long has it been set up?
    Quote Originally Posted by maccichlid View Post
    at least when i smack you, it will be with a prize-worthy koi, not some common carp.

37 gallon 1 month

75 coming in 1 or 2 paychecks

Actually filstars put the sponges first (bottom basket), bio media in the middle basket and floss in the top basket as a rule.
    Obviously the bigger the can, the more baskets, but that's the general sequence.
    If your LFS sux that bad, go to WallyWorld and buy a bag of polyester pillow stuffing (batting). Tear off a chunk to fit in the top basket and polish the water as it leaves the can.
    A bunch cheaper and just as effective as Rena's "Micro Polishing Pads", plus when you do maintainence, just chuck the old stuff in the trash and put in new.
    I have 2 XP2's and still have a bag and a half out of 3 left after a year.
    Oh you better show those babies when you get them... i am looking forward to it.. at least i can look at yours and dream...
    My Fish

yea right now im just running a ton of carpon and one micro polishing pad with the sponges in the bottom, im gonna play around with it

i'm wondering if your tank is still cycling...it's only been set up for 1 month.