PDA

View Full Version : Loaded Tank

SuperDave9x19
06-14-2004, 02:28 PM
Howdy,

I have recently gone thru a "population reduction" by giving away fish I really like since I bought too many to start with. I am fairly new to large cichlids, so I made a few errors that I have paritally corrected. I am pretty confident my tank currently has a high waste load, but it is definitely not as extremely crowded as before.

The tank is 55 gal with 2 external filters (Penguin Bio Wheel 330 and I think it's called Aqua-tech from WalMart)

Was: 4 ea. 4-5" Demseys, 4 ea. 3-4" Jewel Cichlids, a pair of 3" Kribensis, a pair of 5-6" Nicaraguan Cichlids, 1 LARGE Angelfish (dunno how he manages, but he does) 3 plecos, 2 ea. 3-4" spotted Raphaels, 2 ea. 4-5" striped raphaels, 1 banjo cat.

Is: 2 ea 4" dempseys, 1 Jewel Cichlid (gave up trying to catch him), pair Kribs (small waste load, so I kept them. they breed on a 6 week cycle ), pr of Nicaraguans and kept all catfish.

My issues/questions/comments:

1. My problem is that without the "crowd" my fish are nowhere near as "interesting" as before. Of course, "interesting" to me may be "stressful" to fish as I like to see "displaying" and that means mild conflict. Each cichlid now has it's own territory and they really stick to it. It's much less exciting than before. The Kribs still dominate 1/3 of the tank around their cave at 1/2 the length and likely 1/10th the body mass of the Nics.

Is this "hiding" to be expected or will the fish become more "open" over time?

2. By morning, I never have a scrap of food on gravel since I have a high percentage of catfish. All my catfish are fat and apparently happy. But they are part of the Bioload. Should I get rid of some Catfish?

3. Since I have a history of Plecos not surviving (dunno why) the last time I purchased Plecos, I got 4 expecting one survivor. All survived with one being moved to my daughters tank. Should I ditch 2 plecos now, or should I wait. They are 3-4" long.