PDA

View Full Version : Another sand question

dragonetti
02-12-2004, 03:28 AM
I have never used sand before. Has anyone here used, or using Eco-Complete Cichlid Substrate? It comes in 20lb bag of sand or 20lb bag of gravel. I'm going to go with the sand. How do I know how many bags to buy? Pound to gal ratio like gravel? Just got a 75gal with Emperor 400 and my old 280.

dragonetti
02-12-2004, 04:43 AM
Another thing, is a 260 watt (4x 65 watt bulbs) power compact fixture too much light? Some of the people's tanks don't look like they have much lighting. Maybe I'm just used to growing plants in my tank, used too a lot of light. Oh I have a 55gal planted discus tank. It's been awhile sence I had cichlids.

jennigypsy
02-12-2004, 08:28 AM
Is that the sand that claims to have the live bacteria already in the sand/bag?

dmiles7
02-12-2004, 08:45 AM
That is the sand that I used....3 bags is what I used for a 55 gallon....YES it is the sand that claims to have the bacteria already in it....so far I am happy with it

jennigypsy
02-12-2004, 09:01 AM
GREAT!...is it like a salt & pepper look? I saw that at the LFS & thought it was really great looking.

dragonetti
02-12-2004, 05:13 PM
Dmiles, with 3 bags in your 55gal, about how deep is the sand, if it was level all the way across? I know it is not level, but just a guestamation? And anyone have an idea about the lighting Question?

jonah
02-12-2004, 05:23 PM
Originally posted by dragonetti
Another thing, is a 260 watt (4x 65 watt bulbs) power compact fixture too much light? Some of the people's tanks don't look like they have much lighting. Maybe I'm just used to growing plants in my tank, used too a lot of light. Oh I have a 55gal planted discus tank. It's been awhile sence I had cichlids.

If you don't have a lot of plants in the tank, I can just about guarantee a ton of algae.

Technically, discus are cichlids.

the209jungalist
02-13-2004, 03:58 AM