View Full Version : Is this a Kyoga Flame Back???
nickstpatty
05-22-2009, 10:44 AM
Just received a Kyoga Flame Back from Live Fish Direct yesterday and want to make sure that is what I got. It looks slightly different than descriptions I've read and pictures I've googled. Any help would be appreciated as this was quite a pricey fish and want to contact them as soon as possible if they sent me the wrong fish. They have already made one mistake by sending me a female instead of the male Protomelas spilonotus "Ovatus" Mara Rocks I ordered.
Jeff F.
05-22-2009, 12:12 PM
I say no. Looks more like a zebra obliquiden of some "sort". Here's a picture of my Kyoga Flameback.
http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o34/wildchild692007/2009_0522memorialweek0016.jpg
BarroomHero
05-22-2009, 12:54 PM
I have ordered from Livefishdirect.com a few times, and there was a problem every single time. I got females instead of males, badly deformed fish, and I have a hybrid victorian from them that looks similar to yours kinda, but he was sold as a Pundamilia nyererei. Yours does not look like a Kyoga Flameback to me.
Here is a link to mine-
http://www.cichlidforums.com/showpost.php?p=247664&postcount=58
deadman-1
05-22-2009, 05:31 PM
i can say your fish is not a kyoga flame back. live fish direct was selling the exact same fish before as a tangerine pundamilia, thing is there is no such thing as a tangerine pundamilia. i have no doubt that b...hero and yours are an intentional hybrid designer fish. the word has gotten around about this mystery fish and im not suprised that they are substituting these for others. it may have been an honest mistake one never knows. here is a picture of one of my adult kyogas.
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd236/fulu-1/new%20cam/CopyofS7300336.jpg
http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd236/fulu-1/new%20cam/IMG_0875.jpg
BarroomHero
05-22-2009, 05:52 PM
i can say your fish is not a kyoga flame back. live fish direct was selling the exact same fish before as a tangerine pundamilia, thing is there is no such thing as a tangerine pundamilia. i have no doubt that b...hero and yours are an intentional hybrid designer fish. the word has gotten around about this mystery fish and im not suprised that they are substituting these for others. it may have been an honest mistake one never knows. here is a picture of one of my adult kyogas.
The guy from Livefishdirect.com claims that they are pure Pundamilia nyererei's, he just doesn't know which variant lol.
I agree, I posted the link to my hybrid vic from him (aka tangerine nyererei lol) and it looks a lot like the OP's
nickstpatty
05-26-2009, 06:48 AM
Thanks for all the info! I'm new to Victoria cichlids and know I couldn't of found this kind of info anywhere else. LFD has refunded me the female Protomelas and waiting to hear back on the hybrid vic. I'll be sure to post when I do.
jsaunsnp
05-26-2009, 01:55 PM
It looks like some osrt of vic hybrid.
Another negative story about lice fish direct. Sad
sadm1234
05-28-2009, 05:54 AM
Thats A Zebra O.
BarroomHero
05-28-2009, 09:08 AM
Thats A Zebra O.
Astatotilapia latifasciata "Zebra Obliquidens" have much thicker black bars and different coloration.
It looks closer to Haplochromis sp. "Thick Skin" to me, but I still believe its a hybrid, I have a hybrid that looks very similar from the same guy.
nickstpatty
05-29-2009, 08:20 AM
This was my response from Jordan at LFD in an e-mail he sent me yesterday.
"I can assure you that this is a kyoga. That is a kyoga and will completely loose his bars when he gets in a mood. The OB will always have his bars."
Strangely I have never seen it without bars in the 8 days I've had it and I look at my tank at least twice a day. So I'm still skeptical it is a Kyoga.
Does anyone know if this is true about the bars?
BarroomHero
05-29-2009, 08:32 AM
This was my response from Jordan at LFD in an e-mail he sent me yesterday.
"I can assure you that this is a kyoga. That is a kyoga and will completely loose his bars when he gets in a mood. The OB will always have his bars."
Strangely I have never seen it without bars in the 8 days I've had it and I look at my tank at least twice a day. So I'm still skeptical it is a Kyoga.
Does anyone know if this is true about the bars?
I dont have any personal experience with kyoga's, but I have never seen any with barring like yours, and even if it didnt have the bars the color would still be wrong.
Yours looks an awful lot like my "Tangerine Nyererei," which I am sure is a hybrid.
I had a problem with LFD sending me some females, he argued that I must be wrong because he was sure he sent males. I sent him pictures of the females holding and he refunded my money. I never said anything to them about the hybrid I got.
williebone
05-29-2009, 10:01 AM
Deffinately Not a Kyoga. He is a Hybrid cross between either a Thick or Sp.# 44 mixed with a Kyoga. I have a True Kyoga from Josh so I know for sure that you don't. He is identical to the Pics you see in this Post and is just under 3 inches and was 2 inches at Puchase. I would keep fighting if it were me, but I can be Relentless Big Wille Style when mistakes are made. Good luck,
Laters,
deadman-1
05-29-2009, 07:00 PM
actually the xystichochromis sp lake kyoga flame back can display vertical barring see the video he is the same fish pictured above, the female displaying vertical barring, i have a video some where of the male displaying it as well. this male is a full grown adult. by the way i got 72 fry off that spawn.
http://s223.photobucket.com/albums/dd236/fulu-1/new%20cam/?action=view¤t=MVI_7135.flv
VIDEO MAY NOT BE USED WITH OUT MY PERMISSION. NO COPIES ALOWED. COPYRIGHT APPLIES.
StructureGuy
05-30-2009, 07:47 AM
Wow. THAT is a great video!
Kevin
ga_cichlids
07-22-2009, 12:58 PM
I have heard through the grapevine that some Vics got mixed up in a shipment a few years ago and while the males may be easier for a trained eye to differentiate, the females aren't so. Also, I've seen people put all the male and female vics in one tank or put vic fry all in one big container, so when the people fish out females, they don't get the right ones, or the young fish interbreed. I'm not a Vic expert so I buy Vics from people I absolutely trust who have been in the trade for a while, or from people that deal with those people and can tell me exactly where your fish came from. A low price isn't worth much if you aren't getting the real thing. What is livefishdirect.com?
RhictcecE
11-15-2009, 03:22 PM
I dont think so...Not an auratus, but maybe a cross between a socolofi and an auratus. Thats the bad thing about mixed tanks, unfortunately.
What else do you have in the 55G with these two fish?
Kim
maxtmill
11-15-2009, 03:55 PM
Hi All! I just ordered fish for the first time from LiveFishDirect, & they look great. I just do not know how they can reliably sex the juveniles when they all are a drab kind of color. If anyone has anything to say about LiveFishDirect that would cause me not to order from them in the near future, please private email me. So far, my fish are very healthy & robust. Thanks!
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.12 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.