PDA

View Full Version : Is this filtration overkill?

Elpescado
12-12-2003, 07:03 PM
Hello and pardon for the dumb question. Im rather new to African Cichlids but have kept tropical fish before. I have successfully cycled my 60 gallon tank and now have around 14 fish in the tank. I currently own various types of Peacocks and some Tangs and they all get along great. They eat really good and are growing rather quickly. My question is this, I currently have an Emperor 400 and a Fluval 303 filter on this 60 gallon. Is this enough? I was thinking of removing the Fluval and adding one more Emperor 400. I think that would be enough biological filtration as well as mechanical and so on. Reason why I want to get rid of the Fluval is because its a pain in the culo to clean. Have to siphon it to start. Is one Emperor enough? Is there such thing as over filtration? Thanks for your help and these forums are way too cool.

merlyn2221
12-12-2003, 08:18 PM
Elpescado (great screen name! I love it!)

I have a Fluval 303, an Emperor 400, and an AC300 on my 55g. I use the Fluval for nothing but biological filtration. Some cichlid keepers here are of the opinion that more filters is just overkill, but I don't.

Depending on how many fish in the tank, how much you feed them, how often you feed them, and what you feed them, you may want to have two or three filters. Definately go with two, at least. Clean one during tank cleaning one week and alternate the other the next time.

I don't know why your 303 seems hard to clean, mine es muy facil! Just pop off the top lines and the cover, dump the dirty water and rinse media. It has to be primed, but the little gadget is right there on the top.

Maybe yours is an older model?

Anyway, whatever you decided, do regular water changes, usually moreso than you might have done as a tropical fishkeeper.

(ok, chc, go ahead, tell him how it's overkill! LOL)

Elpescado
12-12-2003, 08:35 PM