PDA

View Full Version : Help with Amiracle 100

cichgirl
11-22-2003, 03:36 PM
Hi all, my husband just got a great deal on a used tank & stand!! :dance: My question is as the title states-- how the heck does this filter work?? I've looked through websites and haven't found any info that I need. Mostly, the sites are Amiracle sales... The tank was previously used for salt water, and I am sure that I can use this filter with freshwater. It has the bio balls, an intake into a cylinder and I assume that it fills that then flows through the balls and then out over the top. I have never used one of these before. It came with no directions, and I am stumped... Does anyone know of any informative sites on function and/or maintenance for these buggers? Am I supposed to use a sponge or anything? Any help is very much appreciated! I could always just go buy another couple of filters, but I like to expand my horizons when I can...

Thank you,

Stef

chc
11-23-2003, 11:00 PM
Basic wet/dry function, but if you could show a picture I could give specific directions.

How about stealing a picture from one of those sales links you found?

cichgirl
11-24-2003, 09:23 AM
Thank you chc,
The tank is 49 gallon bowfront.
In a sense, this is it, but I think I got an older model (it came free with the tank). The differences are that the bio balls are in the center (I think about 1 gallon worth of balls) and there is a clear plastic cylinder where the one pictured has a prefilter. The cylinder has a plate in the center and pvc pipe drilled about 4" below water line and extending up and over the top of the filter and fixed to plastic tubing that extends about 4" into the tank below the water line. I assume that I should put some media into the cylinder like batting/floss/etc to cut down on large particles getting into the balls... I just don't know if it should go over the plate or under it.. :D It is fun to figure out though.