PDA

View Full Version : carbon

ticman
11-18-2003, 07:37 AM
What are forum members preference as to type and brand of carbon they use? So many types out there that it gets confusing.

Thanks,

Mike

cichgirl
11-18-2003, 08:48 AM
Welcome!! For me, Black Diamond activated carbon - it's coal based (better for water filtration) and seems to last longer. Removes DOC (dissolved organic compounds), which cause discoloration (tannins-plant based food or plant decay) of the water and the fishy smell (phenols). It also removes chlorine and chloramines. I'm sure any coal-based, heat activated carbon is just as effective.
I'm by no means an expert - that's pretty much all I know about the subject. :D

ticman
11-18-2003, 05:31 PM
Cichgirl,

Thanks for the input. I had heard that Black Diamond was a good product. Was curious about your thoughts on other additive with the carbon--ie ammo-carb and similar additives.

Thanks again,
Mike

merlyn2221
11-18-2003, 08:46 PM
Originally posted by cichgirl

I'm by no means an expert - that's pretty much all I know about the subject. :D

Hey cichgirl, you're not supposed to tell anybody that! :wink:

It certainly sounds like you are an expert! :lol:

I use Black Diamond, too. It is IME one of the best carbons around for removing "junk" (the technical term for it) from the water. :wink:

cichgirl
11-19-2003, 09:43 AM
Thanx merlyn... :D I'm just obsessed with my fishes water quality. I can't handle junk in the water.. :lol:

Mike,