PDA

View Full Version : Starting a Rift Lake Tank



Beechey
10-28-2003, 11:07 PM
Hey ladies and gents
Im a newbie just starting out with a rift lake tank,
and i have some crushed limestone just lying about.
I was wondering whether it would be OK to use a a substrate?
feel free to point and laugh and mock me :P but they basicly through this stuff away near my place.
Regards Mike

tom
10-29-2003, 12:19 AM
Hi Beechey, and welcome

When you say "crushed lmestone," are you talking about (mostly) calcite or dolomite? I suspect the former, and if so, I'd say it (theoretically anyway) should work just fine in a Rift Lake tank, particularly given its decent carbonate solubility and, as a result, its buffering capacity.

Mbuniac
10-29-2003, 02:17 AM
Check your faucet water first. If the pH is high enough, then you can use sand or gravel without something to raise and buffer the water. And don't forget to let your tank cycle completely before you invest $$$ in select fish. If you want info on fishless cycling, go to malawicichlids.com I don't remember exactly where on the site it was, but it will give you step by step instructions on how to cycle your tank with pure ammonia without sacrificing any fish. LOL
Sam