PDA

View Full Version : advice please



schrader77
02-17-2008, 10:51 PM
i have a 125 gallon tank with a fx5 the problem i am having is i can not get the nitrite level to drop i have been running a fishless cycle for 2 weeks now i finally got the amonia to normal what can i do? help please

nitrate is 0ppm
ammonia is 0ppm
nitrite 1.0ppm
is it safe to put fish in it now or should i wait till i get the nitrite to 0

daniel505480
02-17-2008, 10:52 PM
be patient and do not put fish in until you start building nitrAtes. Your NitrItes should always be at 0. Fishless cycle is the way to go, good job.

schrader77
02-17-2008, 10:55 PM
i currently hav a 75 gallon thats been running for 6 months could i use some of the media from the filters i have on that tank to help along my big tank? my 75 has blue dolphins and mumba in it

RustyNut
02-18-2008, 05:10 AM
Sure can, that is an excellent way to speed things up!

daniel505480
02-18-2008, 09:37 AM
i currently hav a 75 gallon thats been running for 6 months could i use some of the media from the filters i have on that tank to help along my big tank? my 75 has blue dolphins and mumba in it

Thats how I do all my new tanks. Its even better than fishless because it will give you a cycle in a matter of days if not on the first day.

schrader77
02-19-2008, 05:45 PM
ok just so i can get some input my tank is cycing i know not to clean the filter but i did not kknow you were not suppose to do water changes is this true? the only reason i did was to bring down ammonia what an idiot i feel like

RustyNut
02-19-2008, 10:13 PM
Are you doing a fishless cycle?

schrader77
02-20-2008, 05:12 PM
yes

Redeye75
02-20-2008, 08:30 PM
it is not a terrible thing to change water during a cycle it will just slow down the process a little.