PDA

View Full Version : Filter Question



bentwookie
10-24-2007, 09:34 AM
I've got a 55g tank and was wanting to know if 2) Emperor 280s will be good enough or if I should get 2) Emperor 400s? Im planning on stocking mostly Peacocks. I don't mind spending the extra $ for the 400s, I was just worried about too much filtration not to mention the current those things put off.

Thanks!

shoebag22
10-24-2007, 10:04 AM
I love your screen name...

bentwookie
10-24-2007, 10:11 AM
thanks. i guess you know what it's from then.

any advice on which filters?

Glaive
10-24-2007, 10:58 AM
I would go with the 400s, but I am a filtration junkie. I have fry that swim in the face of a 250 gph powerhead so I doubt the current would be a problem.

shell696
10-24-2007, 04:21 PM
I would go with the 2 400's. I currently have 2 440's and 2 250 gph powerheads on so 55 and have crystal clear water and the fish love the movement.

You can never have to much.

tahw
10-24-2007, 04:34 PM
go with the emp400s if you have extra cash. You can always set the water turnover slower, there's a push thingy on top that does that for you.

Northernblades
10-24-2007, 05:34 PM
I would also go with the 400's the more the better.

on a side note... you worry me
55 gallons "mostly peacocks"

my thought would be 1 set of peacocks, and something else (synodontis, corries, pleco)
I have no experience with an all male tank, but for any more than one herem, and extras, I am not sure a 55 is enough.