PDA

View Full Version : Adding new fish today- Need input!

Todd Copeland
08-20-2003, 05:30 PM
I have a Bumblebee, an Albino (not sure of the name-has yellow in its features, a Convict, an Auratus and a Sucker. They have been together for 8 1/2 months now and get along fine and are getting big. I want to add a Ram and a Spotted or Leopard Puffer. What will the consequences be?

Thanks!

tom
08-20-2003, 06:17 PM
Welcome, Todd

Sounds like you've been fortunate to have kept such diverse species healthy and getting along, and I suspect any additions now--regardless of species--would upset the unusual balance you now enjoy.

aharris
08-20-2003, 06:54 PM
The ram would most likely get shredded. They aren't very aggressive as cichlids go, and your other fish are.

SGypsyMermaid
08-20-2003, 06:59 PM
and puffers are famous for biting chunks out of their tankmates.

Todd Copeland
08-21-2003, 11:19 AM
Well, as I am an beginner still, I thank you for your input. I did add them them and so far its kinda trgic. The Bumblebee, who by this time was 4 1/2+ inches either got stuck, (found him under debris) or had a heart attack or something cause he kicked it. It only took like 5 minutes after I introduced the new fish (Puffer, Ram). No visible scars. Sad, he was the prize--biggest and seemingly most healthy. The others seem to be doing fine today although the puffer has a little film over one eye (Ick?). I realize adding these fish might have been tricky, but gotta learn somehow I guess as everything up to this point has been guess work.

merlyn2221
08-21-2003, 01:09 PM
Try putting in some Aquarium salt and raising the temp to about 85 degrees. He may have developed this problem due to the stress of introducing him to the new tank.

matt1066
08-21-2003, 06:56 PM
Hi there,