PDA

View Full Version : Ph

Hilary
03-22-2007, 07:39 PM
So I'm new to this stuff and have been reading on the boards and everything. I'm having a lot of problems with my ph. I tested the ph from the tap and it's 8.8! crazy high!! My Ph in my tank has been staying at an 8.2, but today is up to about a 8.4. I put some Proper Ph 8.2 from Aquarium Pharmaceuticals in my tank. I Did a partial water change last night because my ammonia was about a 1.5-2. I have a 30 gallon bowfront w/ africans and a blue lobster. I have read that it's good to not use any salt or anything unless it's medicinal, but the proper Ph says to make sure you use salt. I'm sorry that this is such a huge blurb of stuff. I'm just really needin' help. thanks guys! This is my first post! I just joined!!:)

RobSplatF4
03-22-2007, 08:19 PM
Welcome to the forums fellow Okie. Wow 8.8 that is crazy high out of the tap. It sounds like this tank hasnt completely cycled. How long has the tank been up. You dont need salt except for medicinal purposes as you said. And just a side note the blue lobster probably wont last long with the africans.

Hilary
03-22-2007, 08:28 PM
Yeah. It's really high. I showed my husband, and we were freakin' out! My tank has been up for 2 weeks. So far, the africans haven't messed w/ the lobster at all, and if anything they're having to stay outta his way. He's the coolest little guy!

Axeman
03-23-2007, 12:48 AM