PDA

View Full Version : Filter question



lestrella77
03-02-2007, 10:53 AM
Hi,

First let me say I so appreciate this forum...it has helped me so much :-)

I have a question that is kind of a newbie question I suppose. I have a predrilled AGA (75 gal) with the megaflow 2 sump underneath it. Do I also need to add an additional filter that will hold the beneficial bacteria better? It just seems that the sump doesn't do all three of the filtering actions (biological, mechanical, and chemical) that a power filter does.

Just in case, here's a link to a picture of the setup:

http://i84.photobucket.com/albums/k10/lestrella77/Cichlids/cichlids048.jpg

Thanks for your help!

Lisa

Glaive
03-02-2007, 11:02 AM
Your sump should have a "bio-tower" loaded with biological media. The water should be mechanically filtered prior to hitting the biological media. Chemical filtering should be done when needed as opposed to all the time.

lestrella77
03-02-2007, 11:03 AM
Hi Glaive,

So, since the water is "falling" through the bio balls that should be sufficient enough? Is that considered the bio-tower?

Thanks!
Lisa

Northernblades
03-02-2007, 11:19 AM
http://www.all-glass.com/services/pr_megaflow_sump_filters.shtml

the bio balls are hidden in the photo, but I am sure they are there, and the system has a place for the prefilter. shoudl be all good

lestrella77
03-02-2007, 11:22 AM
OK! Thanks for the link to that article...

I just wanted to make sure my filtration was good for my fish :-)

Thanks again,
Lisa

Glaive
03-02-2007, 05:51 PM
Yep I missed the bioballs, sounds great to me.

RustyNut
03-03-2007, 03:32 PM
Those are very nice w/d filters.... Your fish are in good hands with that!

lestrella77
03-03-2007, 08:22 PM
Thanks! I'm hoping it will work :-) I am having a slight problem getting the nitrites down...they just spiked up a little. :-(

Lisa