PDA

View Full Version : AquaClear 110 flow.......



Dempsey88
02-18-2007, 09:42 AM
This is the first time I am using an AC110, I have used AC70's before and I realized that the water flow is tremendous when compared to other H.O.B's. So, I would guess that the big boy AC110 would have an even greater water flow intensity than the 70's. The funny thing is that it seems to be running quieter and with less force than the AC70 is. I have both of them on the same tank, and the you can see that the flow is reaching down further in the tank with the AC70 than is the AC110. Is this normal? I will try to take a short video clip soon.

Chewy
02-18-2007, 07:40 PM
make sure you intake tube is sitting properly,

Dempsey88
02-19-2007, 11:59 AM
Yeah, it seems like it is. To make sure I just removed it and sat in in place again.

Pets+ Staff
02-19-2007, 02:29 PM
we use them at work and we figured that it just seems slow because of the giant lip it looks a lil bit different... but we have an old one so i don't know how much this help. but they are extremely quiet.

is your water lvl the same as before?

Dempsey88
02-19-2007, 04:15 PM
Yeah, that is a good point. Maybe because of the wider lip, the water seems run off of it differently than the narrower lip of the AC70. I can sort of see the logic behind that. The water level in the tank is the same. The water level in the filter intake chamber is even with the water level in the media chamber. Is this good?

RustyNut
02-19-2007, 06:44 PM
that is normal

Dempsey88
02-19-2007, 07:15 PM
ok, good

ercnan
02-25-2007, 06:45 AM
Yup, I would agree with the others here.
Although the AC500 is rated at 200GPH more than the 70, the spillway of the 500 is so much wider that the outflow just appears to be less.

Dempsey88
02-25-2007, 03:08 PM
I'm glad to be reassured of that. I would hate to have to return the filter. Thanks all.