PDA

View Full Version : ammonia & nitrite spikes in semi-established 55

nick447923
12-21-2006, 07:01 PM
Tank Size: 55 gallon
Filtration: Eheim 2217 and Whisper 60, 1 ZooMed Powersweep
Inhabitants: 6" Oscar, 4" Jack Dempsey, 3 TF Barbs
Substrate: Medium Gravel and some limestone rocks for decor

I do about 15% water changes twice a week and use Tetra decholrinator. I vacuum most of the gravel EVERY time I do a water change because I feed my fish quite a bit. My roomate likes to feed them too so I have to really watch for overfeeding.

I have had this tank going for about two months. It had fish in it the same day I filled it with water. I seeded the tank with a filter from an established tank. For the first two weeks nitrite tested between .5 and 2 ppm. After about a month though nitrite registered at 0 on multiple tests and I figuired I was in the clear.

Now a month later....Nitrite is back to 1.0!!! I added 1 tbs salt/10 gallons.

I am very new to fishkeeping in general but have spent the last two months reading and reading these forums. I think I am pretty well educated on the Nitrogen Cycle and all that.

Anyone have any suggestions

nick447923
12-21-2006, 07:22 PM
Oh yeah...ammonia is .75 in the tank but is nearly 1.0 from the TAP! Is that normal? I decided some of my carbon was too old and I just replaced some of it, in my HOB.

cichgirl
12-21-2006, 08:02 PM
You should have no ammonia in your tap water. Is it city water or well? If it's a well I would call someone in to make sure the water is safe for you to drink. What I would do for your fish is get some kind of ammonia neutralizer like ammo-chips or a liquid water conditioner that helps render the ammonia harmless. Your tank will not be able to fully cycle if there's ammonia in your water changes. Until the ammonia in the tap is resolved you will have to add something to the water to help your fish.