PDA

View Full Version : Lights blinking need help....



fishman
08-08-2006, 08:43 AM
Hey guys.. Im having trouble all the sudden with my light fixture. It is a fixture on my 75. One bulb. When the timer kicks on for the light to come on the bulb will just flash off and on the whole time, it wont stay on. Its acting like its going to but it just wont come all the way on. Is that the condesor that is bad??? Need some help. Dont want to buy a whole new fixture if I dont need to. Thanks

Glaive
08-08-2006, 10:27 AM
Have you tried a known good bulb?

fishman
08-08-2006, 11:08 AM
I tried just putting in a cheapo. But the thing is that it did it to my bulb that came with the fixture so I thought something was going bad in it since it started blinking/flashing and would never come on.

artkelli
08-08-2006, 02:12 PM
Did you check to see if something is applying pressure to the on/off switch? It could be a cord is between your light and filter and is applying enough pressure to make it flash on and off.

jennigypsy
08-08-2006, 02:35 PM
take the bulb out, make sure all the connections are clean then put it back in.

RobSplatF4
08-08-2006, 02:38 PM
Most of the plain aquarium lights have ignitors instead of ballasts like the fluorescents in an office building. They are cheaper than "bulbs" so if a new bulb doesnt work try that. Theyre around 5 bucks for a pair. They should last around five years.

jawboney
08-08-2006, 03:23 PM
Its likely the starter or ignitor as Rob says, should be able to replace.

LuckyCricketMafia
08-08-2006, 07:48 PM
I agree sounds like a starter to me

ercnan
08-08-2006, 08:26 PM
Another vote for the starter.
A round plastic or metal thing close to to one end of the lamp (bulb). Give it a 1/4 turn to the left and it should pop right out of it's socket. Insert a new one, twist 1/4 turn to the right and see if that helps.

fishman
08-09-2006, 04:12 AM
I got the new starter last night, the round tube looking thing. Same thing is happening. Dont know what the heck is going on with it. Guess I will look at the cord today as artkelli suggested. Hope I dont have to buy a whole new fixture : ( Thanks for all your help and give me more suggestions if you have any.

Glaive
08-09-2006, 04:56 AM
ballast perhaps?

fishman
08-09-2006, 04:58 AM
Thanks Glaive. This might be a dumb question but what is the Ballast exactly? Thanks again.

RobSplatF4
08-09-2006, 07:58 AM
It shouldnt have a ballast if it has a starter or ignitor. If you have replaced that and the bulb it could be the cord or possibly the transformer. How old is the fixture?

fishman
08-09-2006, 07:59 AM
The fixture is only 1 1/2 years old.........Has me confused

fishman
08-09-2006, 01:38 PM
Figured it out I think guys. Unpluged light from timer and pluged it straight into wall. Its fine right now. Need a new timer I guess : ) Thanks for all the quick replies