PDA

View Full Version : Python Problem

Mbuniac
04-26-2003, 09:03 PM
Help!
Yesterday when I cleaned my tank I noticed that I'm starting to get little bacteria colonies (black) inside my Python hose. I have been using it for several months now and have never noticed this before. Obviously the last function I do is putting fresh water from the faucet thru the hose. Then I drain the hose the usual way (raising one end up and following the length of the hose til it all drains out). The inside of the hose is still wet, but I don't know what I could do about that. Does anyone know of an antibacterial product that would eliminate this problem without leaving any harmful residue in the hose???
Thanks for the help, Sam

Mbuniac
04-27-2003, 08:11 PM
Anyone?

jonah
04-27-2003, 08:49 PM
I just live with the black spots. They don't seem to cause any problems with my fish and the python works as good as ever.

SGypsyMermaid
04-27-2003, 10:08 PM
i think it's just algae--i wouldn't worry about it.

Mbuniac
04-29-2003, 02:46 AM
Thanks folks, I appreciate it.
Sam

chc
04-29-2003, 05:36 AM
You could run a mild bleach solution (10% + water) through the hose (perhaps letting it sit for a few minutes). Make sure to run fresh water through the hose for ten minutes or so after.

WorldNation
04-29-2003, 10:28 AM
i had the same thing when i sitll had a regular vac. but mine was purple...no kidding. actually colored purple :) i sitll have it, evne though i don't use it. it didnt have any effects on my water or fish, so i'm assuming its not harmful.

Boilermaker
04-29-2003, 11:45 AM
I have the same problem Mbuniac, those spots will become bigger and the algae lets loose eventually.
You'll be filling your tank one day and wonder where the hell are those black pieces of algae coming from.

Mbuniac
04-29-2003, 01:34 PM
I'll try plugging up one end and filling the hose with the bleach solution and then rinsing it well. Can't hurt, and it might eliminate it.
Thx, Sam

Boilermaker