PDA

View Full Version : Filtration problem in 30" deep (top to bottom!) aquarium...



BrownBullhead
01-16-2006, 04:03 PM
I've had a major issue with my 150-gallon, 48" x 24" footprint, 30" deep (top to bottom!) aquarium. A LOT of debris is accumulating in various corners and areas around the substrate. I run a Rena Filstar xP3 *and* 3 HydroSponge #3 sponge filters, but upon water change there is TONS of debris about the water. I even pilfered two of the outtake extensions from another xP3 thinking if the tube reached closer to the substrate that more debris would be removed; this was unsuccessful.

This tank is NOT drilled nor is there a sump. The retailer who sold me the aquarium has the EXACT SAME TANK on his counter at his shop and he also uses external canister (or similar) filtration, no sump or complicated plumbing but his substrate remains clear and free of debris.

I can't return to ask him how it works though as we had a major dispute several months back and I am pretty much persona non grata at his shop.

Anyway... HELP!?

Robert in Sadorus
01-16-2006, 10:04 PM
Send someone you know back to the LFS to ask for you. Sorry i couldnt be of more help.

Solace
01-16-2006, 11:05 PM
Stop feeding as much as you are and invest in a Python to clean that gravel really good. That would be my first guess, but let me slow down a bit.

How much do you feed and how often? How often do you do water changes?

cichgirl
01-17-2006, 07:46 AM
Sounds like you need more movement, gravel vacs & less food. He probably ran a UGF which will make it appear free of debris.

RustyNut
01-17-2006, 03:40 PM
Also, store display tanks sometimes get a daily cleanup since they represent the store. He may have done a quick 5g siphon each morning of the accumulated mess just so his tank looked immaculate.

You might want to consider a UGJ setup

chc
01-17-2006, 06:15 PM
I'd go with a wide flow power head to keep everything suspended. Seio makes an affordable version and Tunze makes a more expensive one. They both push a ton of water in a wide path, not the tight little jet of water most power heads do.

I'd put it in one corner point downward to move everything to one side of the tank (where an intake could be located).

BrownBullhead
04-10-2006, 03:32 AM
I ended up going with the Hagen AquaClear 110 (power head) and it seems to be doing the job very well. I've also become a bit more conscientous about maintenance and using filter floss inside my xP3 filter now. Thanks for all the suggestions!