PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Canister Filter

ebnash
02-03-2003, 10:20 PM
I am fairly new to this hobby and was wondering if anyone could give some advice on the proper way to clean my canister filter and how often. I have a 55 gallon tank and an Eheim 2213 canister filter. I have been told to use aquarium water to clean media but am not sure the exact method. Do I need to remove media from basket and scrub it or just pour some water through it? Also thinking of upgrading to larger filter, maybe Eheim 2126 or 2128. Anyone have any input on those filters. Thanks for any help.

ebnash
02-04-2003, 11:52 AM
Anything? Anything? Hello, Mcfly!

Overawed
02-04-2003, 12:12 PM
I know nothing, but those are nice filters, wish I had one, I have a magnum and it causes me pain everyday

matt1066
02-04-2003, 03:01 PM
I have a 2215, 10yrs still going. How do you have it packed?

Is the 2213 the only filter?

I have mine set-up with the small ceramic tubes, followed by Efhigrob(Looks like a green scrub pad) that is my prefilter. Then I have a layer of blue bonded filter pad, followed by Chemipure, then another layer of filter pad.

My 2215 is not my only filter though, so when I clean it I rinse the ceramic noodles, and green stuff unfer the tap. I then replace the Chemipure and add new filter pad and then viola!

Personally, I dont think the tap water wipes out all the beneficial bacteria only some, and then grows back very quickly.

Need to know a little more on your set-up :)

Matt

fOx
02-04-2003, 04:20 PM
Didn't the setup come with a manual?

As already noted, I wouldn't worry about using the aquarium water. It will only make a mess of your floor trying to scoop it up and move it.

ebnash
02-04-2003, 05:55 PM