PDA

View Full Version : lighthing question...

shindrome
01-20-2005, 10:09 PM
i just realized that i could've made my post here instead of the african cichlid section. apologies for the repost...

"hi, i'm a newbie to this site and there's a lot of great info here! anyhow, i have a question regarding lighting. the bulbs that i got with my 30 inch light strip gives off a purplish tint that is starting to bother me. i went to my local fish shop and noticed some higher priced bulbs. i was thinking about the Coralife Spectramax Super Daylight Bulb and the ones that are actinic blue. does anyone have any opinions on these or have any other recommendations? i'm rather new to this hobby and i'm having some trouble finding some good websites that sell aquarium equipment. can anyone help? anyone know of some good sites? any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated! thanks in advance!"

agez
01-20-2005, 10:14 PM
firstly welcome, and as to your query; actinic and coral grow or coral life products in general are designed for MARINE aquariums. actinic light alone apears blue like 'moonlight/dusk' and extreamly dim, the others are far too bright for river dwelling fish. i would recomend a regular aquarium reflector globe, NOT the expensive coral grows....unless you have coral? just go for a 'white light' ask your store to turn a few of the cheap to mid range 'freshwater' style globes on for you over the same clearwater tank until you find one you like...then buy it! by the by what kinda fish you keeping, africans i presume?

shindrome
01-20-2005, 10:29 PM