PDA

View Full Version : 75 gallon redone....need some help...



muzscman
01-16-2005, 02:42 PM
okay....when i originally setup my 75, i was in a rush and didn't really check to see how level it was. turns out it was horribly unlevel. so after a few months, i've ripped it down, and plan to redo it, but i also want to level it.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/75full.jpg

that's the tank reset up.....my question is to level it, i had to use a 1x4 to prop the front end up and am wondering if this is dangerous or if this will work?? here's some pics of the 1x4 under the tank:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/75bottom3.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/75bottom2.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/75bottom1.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/75bottom.jpg

if this is unsafe?? what would be the best way to prop it up?? thanx.

:)

Glaive
01-16-2005, 05:09 PM
Should be fine since it looks like you have it all the way across.

You could always slowly fill it up just as a test

muzscman
01-16-2005, 05:47 PM
my plan is to fill it with sand first.....then fill it about 1/2 way with water....then let it sit for a day.....then add the other half of the water and then some smaller rocks.....the tank is dedicated to calvus and ocelattus golds..

i will have some caves, because i plan on putting some juli's in there, and then some cyps....but they only need open water from what i understand...

anyway, it's mainly going to be water and sand...

thanx for the reply.....

:)

cich1
01-17-2005, 09:48 PM
should be fine as long as it is supported the whole length of the tank.

muzscman
01-18-2005, 07:50 AM
the board runs the entire length of the front of the stand....there is maybe 1/25th of an inch that isn't supported....good thing is now it's almost perfectly level....

have one more quick question.....i have eggcrate on the bottom, and i have 75lbs of sand in there now, about 5 inches of water (filling the rest tonight).....the tank will be housing ocellatus golds and black calvus....both groups will have shells as their homes. is that enough sand?? i know golds like to dig....and it seems at the shallowest place, it has about 1 1/2" of sand or so....should i just dump the remaining 25lbs in the tank??

:)

Glaive
01-18-2005, 11:25 PM
I would venture to guess that it comes down to your visual preference. I'm sure it's enough but if you prefer a deeper look go for it.

In my experience our fish adapt to our taste so long as we keep it within reason, and IMHO sand is well within reason.

muzscman
01-19-2005, 07:52 AM
i've decided to not put anything more in there....now i have another problem.

i hooked a hose up to fill the tank to a faucet in the back.....it appears to have put some grime in the tank, as on the sand there is bits of brown stuff.....looks like some kind of dirt.....best way to get it out?? i was thinking net some of the sand and it should come out with that?? or would it be better to syphon it out....

tank is filled and there is one AC500 running....but it's not really creating a current along the bottom to disturb the dirt settling on the bottom.....

any tips or ideas would be great.....

:)

Glaive
01-19-2005, 01:22 PM
you could try stirring the sand lightly to see if the gunk floats up some. Also if you're not gettin current across the sand I would strongly consider more filtration targeting that area.

muzscman
01-19-2005, 01:24 PM
i will be adding a second AC500....it's just currently in use on another tank right now.

what would be a good way to get some current along there?? it can't be anything two strong as i have golds and calvus going in there, and they will live on the bottom....

:)

Glaive
01-19-2005, 02:05 PM
if you have a place to hide it maybe a small powerhead or two in the back corners at or near the sand levels. I find that even if your fish aren't current swimmers they won't mind a mild current.

muzscman
01-19-2005, 02:10 PM
i'll check into a couple smaller powerheads.....

i have the other ac500 on my 30 gallon....it creates a hell of a flow across the bottom, and the golds don't seem to mind it...i just don't want babies to be swept away....

whats funny, is i have one loan black mollie in there as well, and when i turn it from it's lowest setting to it's highest setting after feeding them, he swims up to the top and swims in the current....fun to watch...

how little of a powerhead would i be okay with?? here's a list from petsmart:
http://www.petsmart.com/global/product_detail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=84552444177 6828&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302030138&ASSORTMENT%3C%3East_id=2534374302023693&bmUID=1106165551847
would the smallest of the bunch be okay???

:)

muzscman
01-20-2005, 07:31 AM
ran a gravel cleaner/syphon over my sand last night and all is clean now.

this sand is great....i'm very glad i got it. i can put the gravel cleaner down into the sand, and the sand actually falls back down while picking up all the dirt....it's great.....

to get circulation of all of my water, i took an air pump and the hose attached to it, and hooked it up to a small AC filter, then weighted it down on the bottom with rocks.....reason being is the single AC500 on there was leaving the entire second side of the tank with almost still water on the top and it was getting nasty....this way it helps stir some of the top water up which was starting to get stagnit...

:)

chc
01-20-2005, 08:13 AM
Try a RIo Seio. Take the cover off and use it for water movement. The deal with these powerheads (and the much more expensive Tunze Stream PH's) is they deliver a ton of flow without shooting a jet of water across the tank. The flow is high but very broad..... less dead spots.

muzscman
01-20-2005, 09:09 AM
i'll look into the seio's....they are sorta expensive.....but if it will help the fish out in the long run, it will be a definite....i'm going to go get a new heater tonight for my tank....what would be appropriate for a 75? i want a submersable heater...will be a glass one, and i want it as close to the sand as possible so i can hide it behind some rock work......any good brands or suggestions?? how low can i put it? what wattage?? i saw a 300w one at my LFS for 35 bucks or so that was submersible....would that be enough?

:)

Glaive
01-20-2005, 12:33 PM
IMHO there is only one brand with regards to glass heaters, EBO JAGER.

I believe you would want around 300watts, might not be a bad idea to get two 150 watt heaters.

muzscman
01-20-2005, 02:23 PM
what is so great about EBO JAGER? just wondering.....i don't believe my local petstore has those.....

would i be better off with two 150's as i could put one on one side and the second one on the other side?? or just one 300 right in the middle??

i have non submersible heaters which i will have around as backups if anything goes wrong.....

:)

cich1
01-20-2005, 04:00 PM
ebo jager heaters in my opinion are one of the better glass heaters you can buy.they hold a real accurate temp in my tanks, never fluctuate more than 1.5 degrees.they are made with extra thick glass making them stronger than most heaters.i think the only thing stonger than an ebo is a titanium heater in my opinion.i have a 150 on one side and a 100 watt on the other side in my 75 and the temp stays around 77 degrees.

Seedy
01-20-2005, 06:04 PM
Originally posted by Glaive
if you have a place to hide it maybe a small powerhead or two in the back corners at or near the sand levels. I find that even if your fish aren't current swimmers they won't mind a mild current.

I would strongly recomend a powerhead or two connected to sponge filter hidden somewhere...those two AC's may only stir the top half of the tank...

heater wise, I prefer titanium...Won Brothers makes a nice one...

muzscman
01-20-2005, 06:42 PM
well, i bought a single 300 for the moment and am going to see how that does....if anything i can always get two 150's later.

put the thermometor on first, and my temp was at 69 degrees....in the past hour it's already up to 72......

as far as powerheads.....the LFS doesn't really have many and they ones they don't look that great....i will check out the ones that chc said to use....

here are some pics of the updated setup so far.... (the rocks are temporary...i will have rocks, just not in this formation.....these are rocks from my old tank and i hope to let them help cycle the tank)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/Fish/75fullcloser.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/Fish/75left.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/Fish/75middle.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/Fish/75right.jpg

and here's the bigest of the calvus that is going to go in the tank:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v89/muzscman/Fish/calvus.jpg

he's in a 10 with the others at the moment....starting to get cramped....this should help out a lot...

:)

cich1
01-20-2005, 07:44 PM
nice tank Muzscman :ok:

muzscman
01-20-2005, 07:56 PM
any sugestions for layout??? will have calvus, golds, and juli's....will be adding more rocks soon.....but i want to make sure there is ample room for 5 golds and a pair of julis.....then eventually some cyps....

:)

muzscman
01-20-2005, 07:57 PM
oh, and thanx....

:)

cich1
01-20-2005, 07:58 PM
sorry i don't have any experience with setting up a tang tank:(

Seedy
01-20-2005, 08:03 PM
..lotsa rocks!

I like silicone terra cotta pots together to form caves...they are good for julis to other rock fish like leluepi, chalinochromis, etc...
http://www.cichlidforums.com/postimages/2005-01-20/85799-001.jpg
http://www.cichlidforums.com/postimages/2005-01-20/85799-002.jpg
http://www.cichlidforums.com/postimages/2005-01-20/85799-003.jpg
http://www.cichlidforums.com/postimages/2005-01-20/85799-004.jpg

You can also "naturalize" ugly aquarium decorations the same way...

Back http://www.cichlidgallery.com/albums/album95/48328255237_G.sized.jpg

Fronthttp://www.cichlidforums.com/postimages/2005-01-20/85799-005.jpg

muzscman
01-20-2005, 09:26 PM
i saw the thread with the pots....looked great....as far as turning the castle into something workable....that is amazing....i have a lot of rocks and i will use those first....i am sorta wondering about the actual layout....

man that castle is amazing....wow......WOW....it's amazing what a little time and thought can do....i'm thinking of making some caves out of styrofoam along with a background at the same time....we'll see...

:)

Seedy
01-20-2005, 09:34 PM
PHotorah/TobeAnnounced gets the credit for the Castle...she did an awsome job...