PDA

View Full Version : bio load

ocean hawk
01-06-2005, 07:35 PM
This is the bio-load in my tank. The tank is 125g, is this to many fish. I am new to C/S American Cichlids so I need some help. Thanks.

2 Jags
2 Salvinis
2 Green severums
1 Green terror
1 Jack dempsey
1 Texas cichlid
1 Firemouth

3 Plecos
1 Catfish

punkypuffer
01-06-2005, 09:24 PM
what size are they? if they are small it would be okay, but they would definately be waaay too much when sub adult-full grown.

IMO, 2 jags in a 125 at full adult size would be the max... but you might get other opinions.

i would ride it out until they start to grow and mature, then either upgrade or get another 125ish sized tank and split up the stock

ocean hawk
01-10-2005, 08:01 PM
Thanks for the info, I plan to ride it out and then just upgrade to another tank.

punkypuffer
01-10-2005, 11:49 PM
that's what i do.. just get the lil ones and upgrade as they go :) i can't stand having a huge fish tank with one or two teeny fish in it

ocean hawk
01-11-2005, 02:32 PM
Yeah small fish in a big tank looks kinda silly. On a side note I see you have a puffer tank. Where can I go to get some good info? I myself would like a puffer tank (fresh water). And is there a non-aggressive species that could go in a discus tank, since they require the same water type. Or am I way off. Thanks.

agez
01-11-2005, 06:36 PM
no puffer can live with discus im afraid, but we'd love it if there were one that could! and with the jags, i would save yourself the heart-ache and ditch one- they seem to kill eachother! try a different species of fish, synspillum maybe? maybe a festae??

Rex Karr
01-11-2005, 09:38 PM
I know of people who have kept Colomesus asellus with Discus. This Amazonian species is apparently rather docile.

bevoman
01-11-2005, 09:59 PM