PDA

View Full Version : Sustrate change



matt1066
01-28-2003, 03:12 PM
Hi all,

I am going to change my 125g from dark river gravel to sand.

Where would be the best place to go for the sand? Would I get plain silica sand or something else?

Matt

tom
01-28-2003, 03:26 PM
Hi Matt--and Welcome.

Here are are a couple of sand substrate threads; more can be found via the forum search.

http://www.cichlidforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=1010&highlight=sand+substrate

http://www.cichlidforums.com/viewtopic.php?t=167&highlight=sand

matt1066
01-28-2003, 03:53 PM
Tom,

Thanks-good stuff.

Matt

merlyn2221
01-28-2003, 06:31 PM
Don't have sand myself ( I have a substrate of crushed shell and rock made especially for rift lake cichlids...helps buffer the pH), but the people I do know went to Home Depot, or Lowe's and bought play sand. Then they boiled it.

Don't know if the sand sold at the lfs is any different. Someone I know went to the beach (I live at the shore) and brought home some buckets of it and boiled it for 20-25 minutes and used that. I, personally, would still be afraid of the nasty bacteria along the Jersey shore!