PDA

View Full Version : How do you fix cloudy water???



mouse6196
12-11-2004, 08:18 PM
Well I've read hundreds of threads on fixing cloudy water. How about everyone add your way of fixing cloudy water in their tank. I came home tonight and saw mine getting a little cloudy. Then I realized that I never fix it the same way it seems. Here's are some of my methods.

- Turn lights out for 1 day...24 hours of darkness
- lower heat
-40% water change
-add carbon

What are some other tricks out there?????

punkypuffer
12-11-2004, 09:09 PM
depends... what are your parameters? "fine" won't really suffice

fish speaker
12-12-2004, 09:20 AM
Also, does the "cloudy" water have any color to it (green), or is it just white?

Thanks :D

mouse6196
12-12-2004, 07:49 PM
I usually get the greenish cloudiness and the lights out for 24-48 hours usually fixes it.

The white cloudiness of water I find is where I see the many suggestions. My water is clear but I want to know new ways for the future to clear up white cloudiness.

Cichlid_Fan
12-12-2004, 09:17 PM
Weekly water changes and stable water parameters.

skiitswitch
12-12-2004, 09:35 PM
add more filtration

chc
12-12-2004, 10:52 PM
If the cloudiness is white, that's often the sign of a bacterial bloom. Nothing dangerous, just the sign of some sort of instability in the system. Please tone down the feedings, give the gravel a good vacuuming, and allow the "cycle" to settle in.

Cichlid_Fan
12-14-2004, 06:14 PM
Originally posted by chc
If the cloudiness is white, that's often the sign of a bacterial bloom. Nothing dangerous, just the sign of some sort of instability in the system. Please tone down the feedings, give the gravel a good vacuuming, and allow the "cycle" to settle in.

As usual, very good advice!!

mouse6196
12-15-2004, 03:01 PM
Just as I make this post, one of my tanks (90 gallon) has gone green on me....grrrrrrr...I'm doing daily small water changes, lights out for 48 hours, changed the filters on my reverse osmosis system. Any other advice...:(

Glaive
12-15-2004, 03:13 PM
depending on you RO unit you may not have to change out filters.... I have a friend who works for a dialysis clinic and they have a procedure to clean the filters, I'll email him and see what info he can give me...

will
12-15-2004, 04:22 PM
Hey i agree with everyone....

you could also try accuclear it works awesome.....
jus follow the instructions and u want have a problem

u got a pic of your tank thanks
keep in touch
bye